Dinner was yummy - turkey
and ham, potatoes and gravy, all kinds of side dishes, including corn casserole and really good corn from Aunt Beth's farm that she'd frozen. And butterhorn rolls - the highlight of the meal, this year with real butter rather than margarine. Also lots of desserts, but those aren't my main interests. (I had a piece of pumpkin pie though because [a] tradition and [b] mmmmmmm.) Another aunt (by marriage) brought the same "pink stuff" that she brought to the first family gathering she came to as a new bride 34 years ago. I think the family might mutiny if she didn't. (It's some kind of strawberry jello/whipped cream concoction that's like a strawberry mousse.) Yet another aunt brought her cole slaw that I really, really like (generally my opinion about cole slaw runs the gamut from "meh" to "eww" but I've had a few varieties that I really enjoyed and hers is one). I bought a cheese ball and crackers at Kroger yesterday, but there was so much other good (and homemade) stuff that it was barely touched. I was going to take a photo of it and I forgot. I wish I'd remembered because it was cute - 3 swiss cheese balls put together like a snowman, with pretzel arms, an orange jelly bean nose, and raisin eyes and smile. I stabbed him through the heart with the knife when I put him out, but someone removed it and laid it on the plate. No sense of humor. *sigh*
One of my many cousins' youngest babies (almost 11 months old) was there with her grandparents (my youngest aunt and her husband) and this little girl just fell in love with Irish. It was so funny! She's never met him before but when she saw him, she reached her arms out to him. Another aunt thought little Miley (yes, really) mistook Irish for her grampa, but I don't think so, 'cause even when her own grandpa was holding her, she saw Irish again and began to grin and reached out for him. Irish says Miley just knows a papaw when she sees one.
My youngest sister works second shift at a group home for the developmentally disabled - no holidays off unless it's a regular day off on her schedule - so she wasn't there. We'll have another dinner Saturday at my middle sister's house with just the immediate family so she can join us. She doesn't mind working holidays too much; she likes her clients and its double pay, so not a hardship. I always miss her at the big family things, though. My middle sister's boyfriend and his two teenage sons came along. I like them and the family hasn't scared them off, so a big plus! Also, my nephew was here from school and my youngest niece came and was very pleasant. (J will be 18 next month and is emerging from a few years of nasty attitude and starting to be pleasant again. Yay!)
(For the record, this is my mom's family. My dad was the youngest of seven siblings and was a year older than my mom, who is the oldest of seven. My oldest uncle is a year older than my maternal grandmother, and my youngest aunt is just six years older than I am. My oldest first cousin is 60 and my youngest is, I think, 25. Of the 14 in my parents' generation, only one did not get married and have children. I have a lot of cousins!)
One thing we didn't do, which we used to - and perhaps it's because there are so many people at Thanksgiving dinner, I don't know - is to go around the room and say what we're thankful for this year. I'm thankful that I'm rich in so many ways - I have a good husband, a good family, a roof over my head, more than enough clothes, have never gone hungry, and even though I - like so many others - pinch pennies and fret about money, in fact I'm wealthy compared to so many people. And I have friends here on lj that really enrich my life (and I hope I do yours, as well.) Even if I never had material goods I would still be blessed, just as I am now, with a wonderful family and the grace and love God gives me every day. No matter what I do, He never withdraws that love and grace from me. (End of the sermon! Hope that wasn't too Pollyanna-ish.)
What are you thankful for today? Happy Thanksgiving, all! (And happy fourth Friday in November, as
jaded_jamie would say to those for whom today isn't a holiday.)