cbtreks: (Default)
Friday, December 31st, 2010 08:02 pm
I haven't disappeared from the face of the earth! My Internet has been down for the past week (it's this computer - sometimes it'll start pulling a 169.... IP address and I can't get it to pull a good one for anything - very annoying - and then it just fixes itself a week or so later). Hope all of y'all who celebrate Christmas had a Merry one. Hopefully the computer will maintain a connection for awhile so I can catch up on your posts tomorrow.
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, November 4th, 2010 11:12 am
It used to be known as my laptop. It shut down last night while I was online (doing school stuff, which I had to go over to my sister's to finish) and won't power up at all. I don't think I've had it an entire nine months yet. I know I have paperwork for it somewhere; I need to dig it up and find out if it's under warranty. (And I threw out the box it came in just a month ago, after holding on to it since the day it arrived.)

On the plus side, I now have real motivation to take my desktop to the shop so they can figure out why it won't connect to the Internet and (hopefully!) fix it. At least everything else on that one works.

Oh, and I'm really hating my job these days. (But I did schedule my vacation days judiciously, so starting next week I have every other Friday off or half off for the rest of the year - sometimes several Fridays in a row due to holidays.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, May 30th, 2010 07:20 pm
Y'all probably know about my ongoing Internet woes with Comcast. (Yes, we're still with them, because we keep thinking we're going to moving soon - and "soon" keeps getting farther and farther down the road. *sigh*) Last Monday, the Internet went down again and has only come up once or twice since then. I've reset the modem, run a few diagnostics on the computer - all the things Comcast will ask me to do when I call them, just so I can tell them yet again "it's all your fault - fix it!!" (It always amazes me that it's never their problem yet whenever I call them, Internet comes back up within 24 hours.) This time I tried something new - plugged the cable modem into the laptop. Voila, Internet access on the laptop. It's fast, it's steady, it stays on till I disconnect, and when I plug the same cable modem back into the other computer - no Internet. So this time, apparently, it really isn't their problem, but something wrong with our desktop computer. Does anyone have any ideas of things I can test/run diagnostics on/try to fix without being in danger of destroying my computer? It's a PC running Windows Vista and is about 2 and half years old. I'm not comfortable taking anything apart but I am comfortable following instructions for things I can do from my keyboard, including DOS commands, if they're clear and from someone I trust. (I have to confess, though, that I committed a grave sin and did not make a set of recovery dvds when I bought it, so if I have to reinstall something from recovery dvds, I'm kinda screwed. I do, however, backup weekly to an external hard drive, so I'm not a complete tech heathen.)

If this is something I need to get fixed elsewhere, I'll just wait until we move (which really should be this summer) because there's someone in the town we're moving to - Bremen, where we lived when we first moved back here in 2007 - who's well-recommended and, according to my sister and nephew, can work miracles.

I wish this was still Comcast's fault! (They were, BTW, voted the number one worst company in America by Consumerist's readers.)
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, November 29th, 2009 09:30 pm
Studying for the IC3 certification exam. I think it'll be ok, actually - word is that if you work with computers daily, you should be able to pass it. Still, I'm a little nervous because only part of it is about using software (specifically Word and Excel) and the Internet. Some of it cover things I'm familiar with, but not as much as I feel I should be to do well - types of networks, understanding memory types, resetting the computer. Resetting the computer!? Is this something I've done before and didn't realize that's what it was? I'll find out.

I'd like to put this off a little longer, but I can take it on campus when I'm there this week, and if I don't pass it (or part of it) I get one free retake, though it has to be done on campus. The last day to take it, though, is December 18, so I'm getting it done now and hoping I don't need to redo it.

***
In other news, no leftovers today - our friends' daughter, grandson, and son-in-law have flu so can't come from Illinois and the others that would've dropped by decided to get together in Dayton instead - but our friends forgot to call us. So we had a short visit instead, then spent the afternoon and evening at home with cats. And websites about computer innards. Now I'm out studying with a friend (not the same subject, just in the same place).
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, November 24th, 2009 09:47 pm
Yay for Internet access! I'll try to write more tomorrow and respond to people's comments from yesterday. Right now I need to go look at a video and read some outlines to prepare for the IC3 certification I have to pass next week in order to start classes. (Anyone familiar with it?)
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, November 23rd, 2009 12:49 pm
Our Internet service goes out at least once a quarter (not counting the numerous times its goes out for just a short amount of time and comes back on its own or with a modem reset). Resetting the modem does not work. I call Comcast and they volunteer to walk me through resetting the modem. Nope, did that - I have to do it so often I could do it in my sleep - and it didn't work this time - that's why I'm calling. Then they tell me it must be a problem with my computer or with the modem and maybe I'll need to buy a new modem. Do I want a service call (which will cost me money - and will also cost me money if I don't cancel it 24 hours before hand)? No, I say - because the very first time this happened, I actually got someone helpful who did something on Comcast's end and my service came back immediately. Unfortunately, I didn't think to write down what he told me he did and apparently Comcast's customer service department doesn't note their customer's computer records when they take a call (the way every other customer service center in the U.S. apparently does - seriously, most places they say things like, "well, I can see that the last time you called it was about this..."). If I keep the CSR talking long enough though, service will suddenly come back on - like magic! But they haven't done a thing, honest, they just don't have any idea why whatever it is they're not doing suddenly made my Internet service work when resetting the modem half a dozen times did nothing - and without an expensive service call. Huh. It's been down again since Saturday evening. Haven't called yet, because I haven't been in the mood to deal with their unhelpful CSRs.

I'm not without resources - I can stay late at work or go to the public library (with an hour limit daily - two if there's no waiting list) or take my little eeepc to Panera. But I'm paying for service at home - I should be getting service at home! (Without have to fight the CSRs to get it.) So now I'm looking for other options in my area that don't require me getting a landline (or paying a small fortune every month) and feeling a little out of my depth, to be honest. My computer can get wifi signals but they're all secure, requiring a password (which is, of course, a good thing) and, unfortunately, not very strong. Is there some way I could set things up to get wifi service at home? How do you get wifi service? (Is that a stupid question?) Doing a google search hasn't been very helpful - I just keep getting told where I can get wifi while I'm out and about. I know where those places are!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, November 23rd, 2009 11:24 am
No internet access at home for two days now. (Longer post later, I hope.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, December 22nd, 2008 06:17 pm
We've had to take our six week old computer in to be fixed and will probably be without it for two to three weeks. *sigh* Right when I have time off work, too, for the holidays. The monitor went into sleep mode sometime Thursday (I was at work) and won't come out. It goes into sleep mode about 15 seconds after power-up. The tech who pulled apart the computer and checked it out for us thinks it's probably a bad video card (which is, of course, integrated into the motherboard). I am so not happy! At least it's still under manufacturer's warranty. (No, we didn't buy the special program that would allow us free tech service for a year - because who expects to need tech service on a brand new computer?!)

So if I'm quiet for awhile and not commenting much - that would be why. **sigh**
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, November 12th, 2008 07:55 pm
Irish was awarded disability from Social Security on the first go-around. Whoo hoo! That takes so much mental and emotional pressure off him (he's felt, since he first became unable to work, that taking care of the house and cooking, etc., wasn't enough - felt he had to contribute financially somehow to be a good husband) and it's taken a load of pressure off me, as well. What I earn does stretch to cover our expenses, but it's definitely a stretch and leaves little room for extras. Irish won't be getting a ton of money a month by any means, but it's enough to let us keep up with our bills, put a bit aside every week (I get paid weekly), and not have to make such choices as "Hmm. Pay my school bill on time or live on rice and pasta this week?" (Which doesn't sound like such a big deal, but I'm much healthier and feel better when I'm not consuming large amounts of carbohydrates. Irish's doctor has also advised him to eat more protein and vegetables and less starch. Hard to do if you don't have a halfway decent grocery budget.)

Also, he got a bit of retroactive pay. We put aside a chunk of it so a friend and I can fly out to Las Vegas in April, rent a truck, unload our storage unit, and finally have all our possessions in one place. That'll be wonderful. I can have my piano back! Also, the money we pay each month for the storage unit will be welcome in our bank account. (You might wonder why we paid for a storage unit when we were so broke for the last year. Good question, and more than once I was tempted just to quit paying the rent and let the company get rid of our stuff. But there are things in there it would still break my heart to part with - milk glass that belonged to my dad's mom, things Aunt Lizzie gave me, things my dad gave me. If I'd have had to let them go, I'd have dealt with it - they're just things, in the end. Right now, though, I glad I held out.)

We got some things we need - clothes for Irish, whose old clothes are getting shabby; a futon for the living room (I'd have liked to have a sofa but Irish has been set on a futon almost since we got married and you know, it looks fine and it's comfortable, so why not?); a tuneup for the car, which was jumping and stuttering at every stoplight. (And I love not seeing the gas gauge drop to 1/4 tank after just 20 or 30 miles - having a tuneup when you need one really does help with gas mileage.) We'd been thinking about getting a new car - ours is 12 years old - but after further thought, we decided to put it off for another year or two. Ours is really in pretty good condition and while I wouldn't try driving it across the country again - that's a lot of wear in a short time - it's good for what we need and I certainly don't miss having a car payment.

We also splurged a bit: bought a computer and got Internet access, which was installed today. So I'm typing this at home. Can I even convey how excited I am?! We haven't had Internet access at home in about five years. This is living in the lap of luxury. *g*

On a related note, now that I'm putting money in savings every week and not having to touch it, I'm beginning to understand the thrill some people get with just watching that balance grow. It is definitely a nice feeling.
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, July 26th, 2008 04:37 pm
Does anyone on my f-list own a EEE PC, either the Linux version or the newer Windows version? Because it's so small and inexpensive - yet I keep hearing good things about it - I'm tempted to get one when I get my financial aid disbursement. I have no computer at home currently. (I have an older desktop in storage but that doesn't help me right now!)

Anyway, if anyone does have one and would like to make any comments, either pro or con, I'd love to hear them. I'm especially interested in knowing if I can play games/music/movies/tv (e.g., episodes of Lost at abc.com, not with an actual tv tuner). Can I pick up a wi-fi signal with it somewhere like Panera or on campus. (Yes, I'm feeling pretty ignorant here.) I know I can use it for word processing, which is great, but if that's all I wanted a computer for, I'd be happy to go buy an old Selectric typewriter! Also, is the Linux version set up so that a Linux noob can actually get right on and use it, or would there be a huge learning curve?
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, October 31st, 2007 07:05 pm
Upstairs, that's where. My BIL moved the laptop upstairs a few weeks ago and hasn't moved it back. He originally did it because it began acting flaky and dumping us continually in the living room and in one bedroom (but not upstairs or in the kitchen - how screwy is that? And it's all dial up!). He's never brought it back down again - I think he likes the convenience. And since it's not my computer I feel a bit odd about asking him to bring it back down. So now I'm pretty much relegated to the public library (which closes at 8:00 p.m. four nights a week and at 5:00 the other two - closed Sundays) or my other sister's house. If you don't hear from me very often, that would be why.

***

And it's a week late, but I still wanted to say Happy Birthday to [livejournal.com profile] adonnchaid. I've become convinced that if she can't fix it or find a way to, it probably can't be fixed (and perhaps shouldn't be *g*). Have a wonderful year!
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, July 30th, 2006 04:21 pm
My Internet time was cut very short last week and I got way behind on reading and commenting. I'm almost caught up, except for fanfic, and chances are good I won't comment on anything except fanfic until I'm completely caught up.

Two boring lunch meetings last week, plus I've been moved to a different part of the office that's more in the flow of traffic. Bah. That means less Internet time overall - not just fewer minutes snatched here and there while work is slow. Since I'm more visible, people are more apt to see me at my desk at lunch or after work and say, "Oh! You're still here! Since you're here, would you mind doing...?" Sometimes I say yes, other times, "Sorry, I was actually just leaving - is it possible to wait till after lunch?" (Or tomorrow morning, or whatever.) Either way it means less time to catch up.

I may end up giving in and having a phone line installed where we're at so we can get on line. (And then, of course, everything will probably work out and we'll end up moving somewhere else shortly afterward!)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Friday, June 9th, 2006 08:25 am
Just an addendum to yesterday's entry - got home, checked out my cd drive and yep, apparently it's just a plain old cd drive. No writing capabilities. *Sigh* At least I figured it out before I asked someone else to take a look at it - 'cause that would've just been embarrasing! (That still doesn't explain the two cds I have that the computer seems unable to read at all. I can access them at work. Of course that's easily fixed by moving those documents to another disc.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, June 8th, 2006 05:33 pm
We have a computer at home - it's used, got it free from work when they were upgrading - and it's not fantastic but it's good enough. It does what we want it to do - lets us play games, read fanfic... we can't get online but that's not the computer's fault. (We don't have a phone line - use a cell for our home phone - and the cable company can't service our apartment complex.) However, it does something that drives me nuts - I can't save to a CD-RW disc. I have several discs I use and when I use them at work, I can save, copy, delete - everything you're supposed to be able to do with a CD-RW disc. At home, the computer thinks every file on every disc is read-only and that is all it will let me do. Which means that I can't save anything I write to them. Now that's annoying! They're just plain old Imation CD-RW discs, so I can't figure out what's wrong. (Unless - hmmm - do I have a CD-RW drive at home? I need to check. Would that make a difference? I'm guessing that's a yes. If that's the case, I'll have to dig out some old 3.5 discs to write to. Though actually, I had the same problem with another [used] computer and I thought it did have a CD-RW drive. Ok, off to check my drives - as soon as I'm done downloading more music vids.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 05:03 pm
Apparently we're using too much Internet at work. Actually, what it is is that our Internet access has been (comparitively) slow recently and TPTB think it's at least partially due to too much non-work-related Internet access during the day. In order to determine how much more, if any, resources we need, they'll be running a thorough check on the system along with doing some monitoring - something they generally haven't done before - and have told us outright not to use the 'net for personal business during work hours. I'm dying here! I (and several others that I'm aware of) usually keep the Internet open in the background for a good chunk of the day and then when I have a few minutes here or there, check e-mail, livejournal, what have you. I can't do that anymore - and believe me, I felt paranoid the three times I hurriedly checked mail during the day today - enough so not to do it anymore. I'm completely aware that I'm complaining about something I don't have a right to complain about, especially since we're free to use the Internet all we want on our own time, but it sure is annoying. I may end up getting that phone line installed yet. (I wanted cable access but couldn't get it where I live right now.) In any case, if I'm slow answering e-mails or commenting in ljs, it's because I can't get to it just any time I want now.

Fortunately, that's the only real suckage at work. It could be much worse!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, February 6th, 2006 01:56 pm
(Or anyone else, for that matter.)

Actually, two multiple-part questions:

1) Does anyone know if convenience stores in Pennsylvania can sell cold beer? Single cans/bottles? Can beer be sold at all in Pennsylvania on a Sunday?

2) Is anyone aware of a good, free Internet-based "hard drive" (web-based document storage) - like X drive used to be before they began charging? Or perhaps one that's not necessarily free but is worth the subscription price, not a fly-by-night thing? Or if not those, any opinions regarding Yahoo's "briefcase" thingy? ("Thingy" - it's a technical term. *g*) I'll actually be testing that one out myself since I have a couple Yahoo accounts and will post again if I like it.

I know, I can google these things and have (on the fly so didn't get any satisfactory answers) and will again when I can spend more than a few minutes researching. Thought it couldn't help to ask though!

ETA: I found out what I need to know about Pennsylvania. Beer (and other liquor) is sold in state-owned liquor stores. Beer must be sold by the case. Since my snowbound-until-the-highway-opens group aren't going to buy an entire case of beer, they can make do with cold Cokes and not even worry about whether the stores are open on Sunday!