cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, March 8th, 2012 11:19 pm
Yep, that's about the extent of this entry - I think this my first this year. I only have one class this semester but I'm also doing my practicum (internship) and, while I have much less homework, I also have much less free time. Haven't been on LJ in a couple of weeks and I know I haven't commented in ages. This weekend, I hope I can find some time to go back and catch up, but I probably won't try to comment on everything. If I missed something big, let me know!

No classes this summer - I'm so glad! It'll be a nice break (I've had classes year round since 2008, with the exception of the summer of 2009) but I still have plenty to do to be ready to graduate in December. I intend to read a lot of fiction as well.
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, November 10th, 2011 08:50 pm
I'm nearing the end of another semester (just about a month) and nearing the end of library school (maybe another semester, maybe two, no more than three - that's counting the summer session, so no more than a year). I had originally planned on adding an information management certification to my degree, but now I'm thinking about dropping it. If I finish the certification, it'll be another year before I'm finished. That's yet another student loan, plus I'll have to pay two graduation fees. (Yes, really.) If I don't finish the certification, I'd be done no later than August, possibly by May. I won't be able to add "Certification in Information Management" to my resume, but I can still list plenty of tech classes. I'm leaning toward dropping it, mostly for financial reasons. As a friend of mine, who dropped the certification (also for financial reasons) pointed out, I can tell people what I know and what I can do, and it's the MLIS that libraries are looking for. Read more... )

I wouldn't want to be a kid again - I much prefer adulthood - but I have to admit, sometimes it's not all bad when someone else tells you what to do.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, December 22nd, 2010 08:31 am
Several to go. Since I'm going half time, I guess it'll take about forever.

My 4.0 is, sadly, a thing of the past. My current GPA is 3.93, which is perfectly respectable and in some ways takes a little pressure off me (pressure I put on myself - none of my friends or family expects a perfect GPA). Still, I wouldn't have minded maintaining it.... (I lost my 4.0 in undergrad due to B+, which I found much less annoying than losing it due to an A-. Does that make any sense to anyone at all, or is that just silliness?)

I find it both amusing and annoying that I got the same number grade (94) in both classes this semester but in one class (cataloging) it was an A and in the other (library administration and management) an A-. I wish we had a standardized grading system! Last semester I took a class in which the "A" cutoff was a 92. It doesn't seem right that two people could take the same class with two different instructors, get the same number grade, yet one person would have an A- and one an A. It's those letter grades that determine the GPA, not the number.

Next semester: web design, which I hope is not completely over my head, and collection development, which I'm looking forward to. Those will be my first two classes in the program that aren't requirements.

And can I just mention how much I dislike APA style? Especially references! The 6th edition of the manual, which we use, does not require listing the date a website, e-book, e-journal, etc. was retrieved when listing references, yet we have instructors that will take off points for not including them. Others will take off points for including them, since they're not required. No one tells you up front which way they want them! I need to get into the habit of asking every single instructor at the beginning of the semester.

Overall, I'm enjoying school and glad I decided to go for this degree. You might not think so from the little gripes in this post, but that's all they are - little gripes. Nothing big. (And it's not any instructors fault that I got a 94 when I wanted a higher grade - I think they both graded fairly and in fact, the grade on both my final papers was higher than I'd expected. The grade on all my papers is always higher than I expect because I always think they're awful. I finally realized I just don't like the way academic writing sounds, including my own.)

And now it's my day off, Youngest Niece is going to come over and move boxes out of the garage for me (hurray for 19-year-olds! - well she's 18 today but will be 19 tomorrow), and I have the ingredients to bake yummy things. Also, leftover Chinese food for breakfast, or maybe supper. Yay!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, December 8th, 2010 01:13 pm
It was my senior year in high school. I stayed up all night that night to write a research paper that was due the next day. (Procrastinate? Me?) Earlier in the evening my mom poked her head in to tell me that my cousin E. had just been born. I heard the news about John Lennon a few hours later on the radio. Oddly, I don't remember anymore talk about it on the radio that night though I'm sure there was plenty.

The next morning, as I was walking through the halls to class I heard a couple of kids talking. "Who was it?" "I don't know, some guy that was in some band a long time ago." That shocked me. My parents didn't listen to rock music (or much popular music for that matter) and none of my cousins, aunts, or uncles had really been Beatles fans to my knowledge. They'd split up when I was 7, but even I knew who John Lennon was, especially since songs from his latest album had been receiving lots of airplay in the previous weeks. I talked with my best friend, who was a freshman at Western Michigan University. She told me that earlier on December 8, she'd accidentally broken her copy of The White Album. A few hours later, John Lennon was shot and when she heard the news, it made her feel creeped out as much as sad, as if breaking that particular album had been an omen.

It wasn't, I think, as defining an event as the Kennedy assassination, the first moon landing, the shuttle explosions, or 9/11, but it was still a huge and horrifying moment, still one of those things that, I think, you can ask people about and they'll remember where they were and what they were doing when they heard the news.

Where were you 30 years ago? What were you doing when you heard?

(Some things never change - 30 years later, I'm procrastinating on a paper that's due soon.)
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, June 24th, 2010 10:54 pm
Submitted, with an hour to spare. I think it'll be ok - just wish I'd modified my topic a week ago. This week would've been a lot better if I had! No damage done, though. Sometimes it just happens that way.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, June 24th, 2010 09:54 pm
Well, the narrated PowerPoint presentation is done and turned in. (Forgot to mention that, didn't I? That's because it was pretty short and easy. Although I hate listening to it - my headset picks up every single breath; I feel like I'm listening to myself make an obscene phone call.)

I've modified my subject a little and am writing about different ways in general to make reference service more welcoming to patrons. I'm not going to be happy with my paper and I don't expect to get the full 10 points - but I'm happier now than I was last night. Still need two more references, but they're easier to find since I've broadened my topic. 396 words to go! After that, I need to participate in some of the discussion boards, take a quiz by Sunday night, and do my class evaluation - and my third class will be done! Woo hoo!

Oh, to make last night even more exciting than it already was - we had a tornado warning while I was sitting at Martin's. Make that two - we got the second before the first had even expired. The sky was so pitch black at 8:50 that it looked like 3:00 a.m. on a moonless night. (It's not dark here till closer to 10:00. It's 9:45 now and getting dusky outside but still light enough to read.) When I saw that sky, I packed up my computer, preparing to move to the restroom if the siren went off, and about that time someone made an announcement over the store intercom for everyone to go to the produce section. (Because, they told us later, if the siren went off - meaning a tornado was nearby - we could go into the coolers for safety.) After about 20 minutes of standing around and watching some very cool lightning, they told us the warning was lifted and people could finish their shopping. They'd closed the store, though, because the power had gone out and they were running on a generator. I was home by 9:30 - and it was much lighter than at 8:50 - and Irish and the neighbors were picking up tree branches, including one pretty big limb. Fortunately it missed the house and cars that were parked on the street, and we never did lose power at home, so everything's good. We had 84 mph winds in Mishawaka!

I love storms - thought I don't really want to experience a tornado. (They've been close enough that we've had to go to the basement or an interior room more than once in my life, but so far I've avoided actually experiencing one.)

Ok, two hours to go. Hope I can pull 396 more words out of my butt by then!

(One of my cousins has a young - 4 or 5 year old - son who one day last year kept pestering his mom for something - a snack or toy or something - that she didn't have. Finally she got exasperated and said, "B! What do you want me to do? Pull it out of my butt??" His eyes got big and he said, "Mom! I didn't know you could do magic tricks!")
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, June 23rd, 2010 06:15 pm
- and not only will it not come together, I'm beginning to think my topic is not as good as I thought it was, and I'm not coming up with good search terms, so am not coming up with good sources. I have two. I need six. At least this is only worth 10% of my grade and right now I have all the points available at this point in the class, plus an extra. (Got a bonus point on 3 different assignments, which made up for the 2 points total I've missed on quizzes and gave me one to run with.)

I'm at Martin's deli because they have air conditioning and big tables. Paula Deen's voice always makes me want to scrub out my ears with wire brushes. I want to put duct tape on her mouth and never let anyone pull it off, ever. (They play the Food Channel on tv here. Usually it doesn't bother me except when Rachel Ray or Paula Deen are on because they're two of the most annoying people I've ever seen on tv in my life. I'm playing music but the tv's leaking through a little.)

ETA: I don't think I'll do any more accelerated classes unless I could do it and not have to work during that time. This isn't an onerous amount of work - but it is the same amount, in 8 weeks, that would normally be done in 16 weeks. I don't know how parents do it! (In fact, two of my class-mates, both parents, have also said no more accelerated classes. I'm sure there's more - I just haven't heard from them!)
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, June 19th, 2010 11:23 pm
We went and saw this at the second-run theater this evening. It's one of those movies that I didn't feel strongly about either way - if I got to see it, fine, if not - no big deal. I've seen chunks of the original and was not impressed. Turns out I really enjoyed this. It's much better than the original - no stupid robotic owl, for one thing! (Though it does have a cameo - and no one laughed or showed any sign of recognition. Apparently everyone at the theater tonight has actually seen less of the original than I have.) The special effects are, of course, better and so's the acting. The best part, though, was that it made me want to read Greek mythology again. I have a two-month break from school after this week and I'm thinking I need to pick up Bullfinch's and Hamilton for some pleasure reading. Are there other good collections of Greek (or Roman or Norse, for that matter, 'cause I always liked those too) myths that any of you are aware of? Maybe something more recent, since those two were old when I was in school 30+ years ago?

It also made me want to re-read The Chronicles of Amber yet again. I wonder if the library has the first five.... I have all of them packed away but I doubt I'll get to those before school starts up again. The first five are the best, I think.

In other news, I have until Thursday to finish one assignment (1/3 done and not difficult), one 1800-2000 word paper, and a five-minute narrated PowerPoint presentation. The latter two have to relate to the library reference desk observation I did earlier this month. I greatly enjoyed the observation but I have no clue how I'm going to get 1800 words out of it! One more quiz due by a week from tomorrow, then I have my little break.

Does anyone remember - did Perseus ever appear in Hercules or Xena? He was one of Hercules' half-brothers. Zeus sure got around! (No, I didn't get my education in Greek myths and legends from tv! I liked both of those shows a lot, though - in fact, Xena is one of my top 3 favorites, along with original Star Trek and Due South. Numbers two and three rotate fairly frequently.)
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, April 1st, 2010 05:26 pm
In one of my lectures, the instructor was talking about various thesauri, including some found online. One of the ones he mentioned is BZZURKK! The Thesaurus of Champions and includes entries for things such as "bouncing sounds," "chewing sounds," and "weapon sounds." There is a thesaurus for everything!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, December 7th, 2009 09:31 pm
Or will be in January. (SLIS = School of Library and Information Science.) I think I need to print that out a few times and tape it up anywhere I might do my normal procrastinating. School has always come very easily to me and as a result I developed lazy study habits over the years. In fact, the only classes I didn't get easy As and Bs in - math and (consequently, since math is so necessary to so much of it) science - are the ones I had to really study for. Yeah, I was that annoying kid in 8th grade that would come it just before English or History class, do the homework in five minutes, and get an A on it. Of course, I was also the kid in 10th grade who flunked geometry because I could not get those stupid formulas to stay in my brain for tests. (I got Bs on the homework - not easy Bs for me, but got them - but on tests, when we couldn't have the formulas in front of us, I couldn't remember them.)

In any case, I think my life is about to become more structured and scheduled than it has been in over 30 years. Maybe I'll end up with one of those charts you make little kids to remember to do everything every day (brush teeth - make bed - clear table - gold star in the box when you do it). It's going to be a challenge, but I'm looking forward to this.

I feel much more positive about this degree than my associates or bachelors. Especially my bachelors - I mentioned at graduation that I had really mixed feelings about it. I was glad to finally get it, but really wished it was in English, not Organizational Management. I did that program, though, just to get it done as quickly as possible so I could go on to other things. I also didn't feel that the program really challenged me, so sometimes I feel like it was kind of a cheat. It's not - it's a real degree from a real, accredited college that's been around for quite awhile (and at which my dad taught some social work classes back in the late '70s and early '80s) - but I pretty much breezed through it, so it doesn't feel quite real, I guess. I daresay that won't be an issue with this one!

All of which means that orientation went well and I passed all three sections of the IC3 certification exam. In fact, I was the first one done. They covered pretty basic stuff, but not so basic that one could go in with no background and pass by guessing. I'm glad I studied for them - if I hadn't, even having used computers at work for 20 years, I wouldn't have passed them. It wouldn't have been the end of the world - I could've still taken the first required class and thrown in some 1 or 2 credit class, like Nutrition, to keep my financial aid and deferments - but I didn't want to start out that way. I should be able to get my books in early January, then classes start on January 11.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, November 29th, 2009 09:30 pm
Studying for the IC3 certification exam. I think it'll be ok, actually - word is that if you work with computers daily, you should be able to pass it. Still, I'm a little nervous because only part of it is about using software (specifically Word and Excel) and the Internet. Some of it cover things I'm familiar with, but not as much as I feel I should be to do well - types of networks, understanding memory types, resetting the computer. Resetting the computer!? Is this something I've done before and didn't realize that's what it was? I'll find out.

I'd like to put this off a little longer, but I can take it on campus when I'm there this week, and if I don't pass it (or part of it) I get one free retake, though it has to be done on campus. The last day to take it, though, is December 18, so I'm getting it done now and hoping I don't need to redo it.

***
In other news, no leftovers today - our friends' daughter, grandson, and son-in-law have flu so can't come from Illinois and the others that would've dropped by decided to get together in Dayton instead - but our friends forgot to call us. So we had a short visit instead, then spent the afternoon and evening at home with cats. And websites about computer innards. Now I'm out studying with a friend (not the same subject, just in the same place).
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, November 24th, 2009 09:47 pm
Yay for Internet access! I'll try to write more tomorrow and respond to people's comments from yesterday. Right now I need to go look at a video and read some outlines to prepare for the IC3 certification I have to pass next week in order to start classes. (Anyone familiar with it?)
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, November 17th, 2009 09:18 pm
Got my financial aid application on file, did the loan counseling, signed the paperwork. I'm scheduled for orientation and for the computer certification test. ($90 out of my pocket! Ouch.) Tonight I called my cousin Dave to see if I can stay with them for a couple of nights while I'm in the area for orientation and I've made arrangements to borrow mom's car. (Much better for a trip than mine, even just a four hour one.) Now I need to watch the videos to prepare for the certification test, and then it's pretty much waiting. Less than two months and classes start!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, November 2nd, 2009 08:17 pm
Registration for classes starts today. I forgot to take the letter with my ID and password to work, so I couldn't do it on my break - and when I tried to log on just now, it didn't recognize my password - and it's after 8:00, so the help desk is closed. *sigh* This is the second time I've reset my password (as required after the first login) and the second time the pipeline program doesn't recognize it. Won't take the original password anymore either. This definitely has to be resolved before January 11! (First day of class.) Oh well, nothing major, just frustrating. Hopefully I'll have better news tomorrow.

And now it's after 8:00, so I want to finish up quickly and get off the computer.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, October 26th, 2009 07:03 pm
Remember earlier this year I was talking about library school? I was looking at a program at IUPUI but really wanted to go to Wayne State. I didn't apply there because the non-resident tuition was quite high and I didn't think it was a good time to be moving up to Detroit without a job. (There's an understatement!) Well, last month, while trying to whip up enough enthusiasm to apply to the IUPUI program, I was tooling around online and found that Wayne State offers its MLIS degree online now as well as on campus - and everyone from North America who does the program online is given resident tuition rates. I found this out literally one week before the application deadline for the January semester, managed to get everything I needed and has the application submitted the day before it was due. I got my acceptance letter today. Yay! I'm going to get an MLIS degree! And from the same university where my dad got his MSW - how cool is that? Right now I can only think of a couple of things that would prevent me from starting in January, which would be trouble with financial aid/getting my loans, and anything that would prevent me from attending orientation on December 3. They've made it very clear that anyone who doesn't attend orientation will not be allowed to begin the program. I have my vacation time, I need to contact my cousins to see if I can stay with them, maybe arrange to trade cars with my mom, and pray for good weather and good health.

The Wayne State MLIS degree is 36 hours. I think on-campus students do it in about a year (three semesters of 12 hours each) but online students are expected to take 6 hours each semester and so do it in two. I figure that means I'll be done around December 2012. Huh, just in time for the end of the world! *g*
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, May 2nd, 2009 12:40 pm
I need to finish getting dressed and ready to head out because today is Graduation Day. Finally getting that bachelors degree after all these years.

I actually have very mixed feelings about all this, which maybe I'll post about later. I'm glad my mom and sisters will be there but am trying not to think about dad not being there since I really don't want to cry through the ceremony. (I'm not a pretty crier.)

20 minutes before I should leave, so I'm off....

I don't have a small enough purse with a shoulder strap. Help!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, January 24th, 2009 09:17 pm
I'll be finished with my bachelors degree on June 18. (Graduation is actually May 3; they let us walk then but we still have a class to finish. The last day of class is June 18.) I'm not sure what I'll be doing job-wise at that point - stay where I'm at? Look for something with better pay (and an office!)? A lot of that depends on what I do academically - I'm contemplating grad school. Part of the reason for that is, of course, that as long as I'm in school full-time, I can continue to defer paying my student loans. Mostly, though, it's because grad school was always one of my goals way back when and I'd still like to get that masters degree. When I first began college (in 1981) my goal was an MLS degree and I'm leaning toward that again. I just got an information package from IUPUI and next month I'm going to get together with a cousin who completed their MLS degree (masters of library science) program, loved it, and loves the job she got as a result.

Actually, asking "what next?" is kind of silly at this point, since I'm planning on applying to the program. The big question is whether I want to start in August or in January. I think I can postpone till January without losing my deferment - but starting in August won't bother me. A large part of the program can be done online and through televised distance learning, with some trips to Indy necessary. Hmm, I wonder if IUPU at Fort Wayne has this program? I need to look; Fort Wayne's closer and I have an aunt there.... Just checked, doesn't look like it.

Of course, if I move up to Niles pretty quickly, I can live there for six months, then apply to U of M and Wayne State as a Michigan resident. I'd actually prefer both of them to IUPU - but logistically it probably makes more sense to stay here. If I went to either U of M or Wayne State - where dad got his MSW, by the way, so it really does appeal to me - I'd have to move to Ann Arbor or the Detroit area. I love that idea, but we all know what the job market in Michigan is like. At least here I have a job and I think they'd be ok with having to go to Indy once in awhile, plus I have vacation time. Also, to qualify for in-state tuition at either school, I'd have to be a Michigan resident for at least six months, which would mean moving to Niles pretty quickly.

Actually, I wouldn't mind moving to Niles anyway and becoming a Michigan resident again (it's close enough to South Bend to keep the job I have if need be) - but that would mess up my tuition for IUPU. *sigh* It's all so ridiculously complicated! Too many decisions!

So it looks like I'm headed for another year or two of school, provided I get accepted into the program and get enough financial aid. It's a 36 hour program, so technically I could do it in a year, but I don't think I really want to take 12 hours of grad-level classes and work full time. I think 9 hours will still qualify me for financial aid. Now wouldn't it be nice if I could get enough financial aid to work part-time. With Irish's disability payment each month, it would probably be doable, but I don't think my employer's really big on part-time secretaries. Most law firms, in my experience, aren't.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, October 9th, 2008 09:15 pm
I didn't say it out loud - well not exactly - because people who have to say "I told you so" annoy me. But when this semester (Accouting, Finance, Economics, ohmigosh will it never end?!) began, our instructor suggested we each buy a scientific calculator. (Also good for the Dreaded Statistics coming up next semester.) I found a ton of them at The Dollar Tree for - what do you suppose - $1.00 apiece. Since Irish and I are pinching pennies these days (who isnt'?), I snatched one up. Took it to class the next week and told everyone about the great deal at the dollar store and they laughed. The general consensus being that if you pay a buck for a calculator, it's probably worthless. Well this one has held up so far and done exactly what I've needed. I've gotten my dollar's worth out of it already.

So tonight a friend of mine (we also work together) who's had to borrow a caculator every week finally came to class with a brand-new one, still in the package. Famous name brand, anyone would recognize it, she paid $30.00 for it at the office supply store. It doesn't do what she needs. Doesn't carry numbers past a single decimal point and she can't get it to display negative numbers. I didn't say "I told you so", I promise - but I laughed. I couldn't help myself. Everyone else was too good for the cheapies at the dollar store and here she paid 30x what I did - and it didn't do what she needed it to! I'm still grinning. Sometimes bargain hunting is a blast.

(PS - She did look at the instruction booklet and figured out how to get it to show four decimal places and negative numbers so she's not going to be helpless in class. But mine did it right out of the package.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, June 11th, 2008 06:07 pm
Haven't had Internet access at home since October and I got so far behind reading that I quit posting. Which is silly, really. Anyway, I'm almost caught up reading again, except for the Buffy group. It's been faster not commenting, which is why comments are so few and far between right now. If you've posted fic and I haven't commented it's either because (1) I haven't gotten there yet or (2) I just haven't commented because I'm trying to get everything read. I'll try to do better - posting and commenting - in the future.

To prove it's really me - I still love a fun meme!

 
Behold... My Future
  I will marry Callum Keith Rennie.  
  After a wild honeymoon, We will settle down in Imlay City in our fabulous House.  
  We will have 3 kid(s) together.  
  Our family will zoom around in a blue Dodge Dart.
  I will spend my days as a lawyer, and live happily ever after.  
 
whats your future
 



Though I suspect Callum Keith Rennie might not be all that easy to be married to.... Gotta love that blue Dodge Dart, though!

And to prove further that it's still me - I still can't remember how to do a cut without looking. I might edit tomorrow. Also tomorrow, who's birthday have I missed?

In upcoming episodes - where am I living now? Is it true I'm back in school yet again? Tune in next time....
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, October 13th, 2004 03:32 pm
I haven't been here in ages, except to try to catch up with friends' journals. Things have been insane at work (work and school are the only two places I have Internet access) and I've been behind on all my lists, e-mail, everything. Haven't been out with the Vegas Fen group in ages, either. I'll be so glad when I'm done with school! January 11 is my last day of class but graduation isn't until April. I'm a bit worried about being able to finish because I got a vaguely threatening form letter from the financial people last week indicating that they might not cover the rest of my tuition (even though my loan is supposed to cover me through graduation - at least one of my friends at school had her loan rescinded just before this quarter began). I don't see how they can get away with threatening my financial aid after the final quarter has begun . . . maybe I'm worrying about nothing. I have till Friday to reply, so I'll get there early tomorrow and talk with the guy. I don't like the financial people much - I've never seen them smile, ever.

Haven't been doing much fannish stuff at all. I began re-reading the Sime~Gen novels; finished "First Channel" and am half-way through "Channel's Destiny". I'm most anxious to get to "Unto Zeor, Forever!", which finally answers the question of which one is my favorite. I could never choose, but I feel like I can't read the others fast enough so I can get to "Unto...". I think that means I have a favorite.

I did watch lots and lots of Starsky & Hutch eps last weekend while DH was working Faire (I didn't get to go for various reasons), which was great. I finally got those, Sentinel, the few DueSouth I have, Xena, and Highlander out of storage. All the Star Treks, the Twilight Zone, and Buffy are still there but I have plenty of good viewing now. Yay!

I read a Jack Sparrow death story yesterday but when I went back to comment, somehow I'd lost the page. I don't remember the title or the author but I believe it was on the Pirategasm lj. Very, very good. I don't usually read death stories, but I don't absolutely refuse to read them, either and this one came highly recommended.

Not much else going on. I feel very much as if I'm on autopilot. Blah. Did I say how glad I'll be to be done with school? I've enjoyed it, but I'm feeling burnt out and this quarter I have no legal classes, just accounting and American National Government (and computer applications, which I'll try to test out of Friday) and I feel like I'm just marking time till I'm done. Plus if I test out of computer apps, all my classes will be 8:00 p.m. classes, which is a bit annoying, though it will give me more time to be on line and catch up with things like this lj. At least this quarter has lots of breaks!