March 2022

S M T W T F S
   12345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, October 14th, 2007 08:14 pm
Actually, that should be "what a six weeks!"

With my unemployment just about to run out, I finally got a job doing data entry, second shift, for $8.40 an hour. That's actually less money that I was getting with unemployment! Still, it was more than nothing.

The second day of my job (a Friday; I started on a Thursday), my dad died and both my sisters and I, along with my brother-in-law, made a whirlwind trip to Texas for the funeral.

Read more... )So we got back late Thursday afternoon and on Friday I went to work. The next Monday I had an interview at a law firm where I'd dropped off a resume in July; the office manager called me just before dad died to tell me they'd have an opening soon and would I like to interview for it. Hmm, data entry? Legal secretary? That was a no-brainer! I worked that week at the data entry job again and the next Monday, office manager called and offered me the legal secretary job. So yay! I'm working as a legal secretary again! It's not as much money as I was asking for, but it's more that data entry was paying and I should have a review and possible raise in January. I'm hoping we might be able to move by the end of the year into our own place - that's be so nice.

I had to give three days notice at the temp (data entry) job, so on Tuesday, I called the agency and gave my notice. On Wednesday, they called me and said the client had told them I didn't need to work the final three days. Unfortunately, the law firm wasn't ready for me to start till October 1, so in the month of September, I only had one full paycheck. Ouch! (Oh, and the client "forgot" to turn in my hours for my last two days, so I had to jump through hoops to get paid for those days. Grrr.)

Tomorrow I start my third week at the law firm. So far, I like it a lot; the people are nice, the work is interesting, it's fairly calm-paced (which doesn't always happen in a law firm!) and it's more of a business-casual atmosphere as far as dress goes. Also, I get paid weekly - always nice.

So it's been a crazy six weeks and I can't believe there are less than three months till the end of the year. It's been a decent year so far (barring some obvious bad things) but highly stressful. I hope next year is a little less eventful!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 04:39 pm
Irish and I are officially living in my sister's basement. Actually, it's not bad at all - there are a bed and a couple of chairs, not to mention our cats, and when the weather's hot or humid, it's nicer sleeping down there than in my niece's room upstairs.

So far I haven't found a job - I keep getting leads and interviews and then not getting picked. Very annoying. I have unemployment till September but don't want to cut things that close, so I'm starting to put money aside from each check and if I'm not working next month (which is getting closer all the time) there's an employment agency I'll check out. I haven't gone there yet because it charges a fee to the employee, not the employer. However, it's a one-time flat fee, not terribly expensive, and they'll work with you for a full year for that fee. I've seen their ads in the paper since we moved here and they advertise higher pay than other agencies do for similar jobs.

That's part 1 of plan B; part 2 is to call the other agencies I've signed with and lower the rate of pay I'll accept. That's kind of a stop-gap measure but beats continued unemployment. (I'm not being as picky as I make myself sound - I'm not kidding when I say that a lot of employers around here want to pay the same amount for a job that they were paying 10 years ago, even though costs have gone up - especially gas. I've actually seen ads for admin assistant jobs paying $8.00 an hour! Not enough, even in small-town Midwest.)

Other than the job thing (and that's nowhere near crisis yet) everything else it still great. I get to see my oldest niece every day - she'll be 21 next month and I haven't seen her since she was 14. We really missed out on a lot, moving away for so long. She just finished her sophomore year in college and is smart, funny, nice, pretty. Not, you understand, that I'm the least bit prejudiced. *g* When I first saw her, I got a lump in my throat - she grew up so fast - though of course I wouldn't let her see me be teary eyed, because that would just make her roll her eyes!

My nephew graduates from high school on Friday and his open house is Saturday. He'll be 18 in early July. He's very intelligent, very focused - before he started high school, he set out a plan for getting into college and getting scholarships. He ended up earning several academic awards from high school and about $3500.00 worth of scholarships. He was accepted at every college he applied to, except for Notre Dame, and even they wait-listed him rather than outright rejecting him. (But they did eventually turn him down - not a huge deal because they turn down a lot of students that plenty of other colleges would be happy to accept.)

My younger niece is 15, tall and pretty, a social butterfly but so far just an average student. That's an oddity in our family but my sister isn't making a big deal of it, doesn't compare J with her brother, and accepts that some people are more gifted academically than others. (Which doesn't sound like a big deal unless you've ever been the object of a "why can't you be more like your sister?" rant.) Unfortunately I don't know J as well as I'd like - she and my nephew were born in Texas and lived there for a long time before moving to Indiana a few years ago. I've only seen them a couple of times before moving here. My nephew enjoys adult company so I've gotten to know him a little better. My niece is a more typical teenager - adults are stupid! - and spends as little time with the "old people" as she can.

My mom is here for a couple of months, staying with my grandparents, so that's been nice. I also see my best friend frequently.

I do wish I could do things with the VegasFen - I'll miss them on Memorial Day - and I'm sorry I can't make it to ConStrict this year - I'll definitely miss that. Still, I'm happier here than I was in Las Vegas (and Irish even more so), so don't complain. I have no fannish friends here, though! I'm thinking of setting up a Yahoo group and an LJ for local fen and seeing if anyone shows up.

BTW, just to keep the players straight, I have two sisters and I'm the oldest. My youngest sister, with whom we're living, is my oldest niece's mother. My middle sister, who I see almost every day, is my nephew and younger niece's mom.
cbtreks: (Default)
Friday, June 23rd, 2006 07:27 pm
David Cassidy was in our conference room!!!!

I should go back and remove three of those exclamation points, but I can't.

Our conference room is mostly glass-walled. I found lots of errands on the other side of the office. Ok, not really, not moreso that usual, in fact, but I didn't mind having to go to the mail room and/or front desk four times in an hour or so.

I'm happy to report I only squeed a tiny little bit (and not anywhere near him), I did manage to wipe the silly grin off my face before I actually passed the conference room, and I didn't stand and stare.

May I say, David's still looking pretty good, at least from a distance of 15-20 feet.

Five hours later, I'm still grinning. Which is really funny, actually, because I'm generally not star struck if I get the chance to see or even meet a celebrity (such as at a convention). It's that age seven thing, I guess. Sometimes being seven again is fun!

(Actually, I may be the only woman in the office of the right age to have had a crush on David Cassidy as Keith Partridge. The others are either 10-20 older than I am and thus wouldn't have thought him all that much 36 years ago, or they're 10-20 years younger than I am and can't figure out what the big deal is.)

I saw David Cassidy. Woo hoo!! I'm going home now to share this great adventure with my cats. (Irish is out of town or believe me, he'd have heard all about it already.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 11:04 am
At work, all the secretaries take turns bringing in breakfast on Fridays. (We get $30.00 from petty cash; it's usually doughnuts and bagels with some cheese thrown in for those of us low-carbing, fruit if there's extra change.) Each person generally has to do breakfast about once a quarter. We got the updated schedules this morning - and I have breakfast duty on September 8.

I get to bring in breakfast on Star Trek's 40th Anniversary! How cool is that!? You know I'm going to have to do something uber-geeky, like frosting an Enterprise insignia on a coffee cake or something.

Whoo hoo! Geekiness reigns!

I love being a Trekker. *g*
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 05:03 pm
Apparently we're using too much Internet at work. Actually, what it is is that our Internet access has been (comparitively) slow recently and TPTB think it's at least partially due to too much non-work-related Internet access during the day. In order to determine how much more, if any, resources we need, they'll be running a thorough check on the system along with doing some monitoring - something they generally haven't done before - and have told us outright not to use the 'net for personal business during work hours. I'm dying here! I (and several others that I'm aware of) usually keep the Internet open in the background for a good chunk of the day and then when I have a few minutes here or there, check e-mail, livejournal, what have you. I can't do that anymore - and believe me, I felt paranoid the three times I hurriedly checked mail during the day today - enough so not to do it anymore. I'm completely aware that I'm complaining about something I don't have a right to complain about, especially since we're free to use the Internet all we want on our own time, but it sure is annoying. I may end up getting that phone line installed yet. (I wanted cable access but couldn't get it where I live right now.) In any case, if I'm slow answering e-mails or commenting in ljs, it's because I can't get to it just any time I want now.

Fortunately, that's the only real suckage at work. It could be much worse!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, January 27th, 2005 10:37 am
I guess it's kind of silly to update my journal just to say I don't know when I'll get to update again, especially since my entries are so sporadic anyway. Still, I'm excited because (1) I finished school on January 13 (associates degree in paralegal studies) and (2) I have a new job and will start on Monday.

There are a couple of people in this law firm who I'll miss but only a couple - I mean that literally, as in two. (One being the lawyer I originally began working for before he stopped being a sole practitioner and we came here.) Things I won't miss: Answering the phone more often than not because the receptionist is on yet another smoke break or personal call and the person who's supposed to be phone backup just refuses to do it. Opening the office in the morning because the receptionist can't manage to be here on time in the morning, let alone the five minutes earlier that she's supposed to get here. Evil boss (the owner) not caring about anything in the office, and the branch of law I've been working in in particular, unless something goes wrong or we miss a deadline. Good boss (the one I'll miss) being so overworked that he doesn't have time to review and sign things until, literally, the last minute. We're not a well-run firm.

The advantage to working in a place like this is that there's enough down-time that I can be online, checking e-mail, looking up fanfic, stuff like that. No more of that - the new place is very busy, enough so to keep us all working eight hours a day, five days a week and that's what they expect. I'll have to curtail some of my fannish activities until I'm hooked up at home again.

I think this is going to be a good move, career-wise. They're a known firm and respected and I have no doubt I'll be getting a thorough grounding in my field. I was a little - no very - nervous about making the move in spite of being so unhappy where I'm at. I think it's true that people get into comfort zones and don't want to leave them even if they're not good places to be. Now that I'm actually doing it, though, I'm excited.
Tags: