cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, April 29th, 2017 04:48 pm
Not the city - I've been through it a couple of times as a kid and took the cereal factory tour (free variety pack of cereal for everyone at the end!) and that's about it. Actually, in addition to cereal, we got spoons, I'm pretty sure I have a tarnished spoon with Tony the Tiger on the top somewhere.

I'm talking about the tv series that ran for 13 episodes about 2 years ago and which I just watched on Netflix. How did this not get renewed? I love it! (That, of course, is all the reason they needed to renew it and keep on doing so - because I would discover it and love it.) It's like a spiritual successor to Due South and so, so good. 13 episodes wasn't enough by a long shot. I'm not sure it was around long enough to even develop a fandom. (It has one now - a little fandom of one.) Plus I like it when shows are set in Michigan. Fortunately it didn't end on a cliffhanger, but the characters and their interactions are all so interesting and I want to see how every one of them develops. I'm already missing it. Might have to watch it all over again.

Also - not a surprise at all that it kept making me think of Due South. David Shore, one of the producers, wrote 7 episodes of Due South.
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, February 1st, 2017 06:32 pm
It's a really old drabble, from the fall of 2007, but I don't think I ever posted it. I found it today in a notebook from back then. It looks like I never posted it here and I doubt I posted it in the community where I found the prompt, which was "water".

***

Joe watched the waves rolling through the sound and thought about water. Water poured over his head as an infant, a symbol of life and faith. Filthy, stagnant water where he lay legless and dying till a friend came back from the dead to carry him to safety and offer him a new chance at life. A river in another county where another friend was living in a converted barge. Were they friends still? It was past time he found out. He levered himself off the bench and set off for the bar, finally ready to travel on to Paris.

***

The political and governmental situation is eating my brain and will continue to because I no longer have the luxury of living in a politic-free zone. I hate it. (At least I didn't vote for our resident wanna-be dictator.) I always loved writing drabbles. Maybe I should start doing them again on a regular basis to help relax. That and cross stitch.
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, June 30th, 2015 03:20 pm
Buffy Anne Summers.
Mary Ann Summers.

Do you suppose Buffy's dad had a favorite aunt who was thought dead for years after a short island tour was hit by a devastating storm?
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, March 3rd, 2015 12:29 pm
I haven't talked about Leonard Nimoy's death to anyone in "real life", except to mention it to a friend at work and to my husband, both of whom thought it was sad, but that's it. I don't know how to express to people outside fandom why his death makes me sad for more than just a few minutes or how a character he played almost 50 years ago has meant so much to me since I was 13. Inside fandom, I don't have to. Fans get it. Even if they're not Star Trek fans, they still get it. Thank you, Leonard Nimoy, for making my teen years better and for giving me such enjoyment all my life, and thank you fandom for getting it.
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, June 23rd, 2011 10:17 pm
That if anyone can honestly use Eddie Izzard's classic excuse, it would have to be Captain Jack Harkness:

"I didn't do it. I wasn't - I was dead at the time!"

(Or was he on the moon? With Steve?)
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:34 am
First Rose, now Donna! I'm beginning to think being a Companion really isn't good for a woman. (Except, I guess, Martha - and she left voluntarily.) Now I'm getting a little worried about Amy. That ending just - that's just heartbreaking. This time, I didn't even feel bad for the Doctor. I think I was supposed to, but I really couldn't.

(Happy about Rose and 10.5 though.)

Ok, I feel a little bad for the Doctor.

Maybe I ought to watch the final episode of Due South sometime this week. Now that's a happy ending!
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, June 5th, 2011 10:42 am
"Doctor."
"Master."
"I like it when you use my name."

*blink* *blink*

And suddenly I understand why there is Doctor/Master fic. (Don't want to read it, but I can understand where those who do get the idea.)

ETA: "Are you asking me out on a date?"

I think the line reading was on purpose.
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, June 4th, 2011 06:46 pm
Skeevy bow-tie guy telling Martha's mother "there are things you should know" about the Doctor and whispering in her ear. This can't be good.
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, June 2nd, 2011 11:19 pm
Well, that just sucked.

I'm glad they saved the earth and all, but did they just have to leave Rose completely devastated? That's not an episode I'm likely to watch over and over again! (Billie Piper is a great crier, though.) I love me some angst, but am not so much into the angsty endings (that tv seems to love so much).

This isn't the first ep that's given me the impression that the Doctor was kind of in love with Rose. Then again, I only have his interactions with one other companion (Amy) to compare, but it's decidedly different.

So Rose is safe but gets her heart broken into shards. The Doctor is safe and feels really bad - but from the previews it looks like he gets another companion right away? That doesn't seem fair. (Wah! Yeah, I know. I'm being silly.) How necessary is the Series 3 Christmas ep? I don't have that one. I have the first actual episode but not the Christmas special.
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, May 31st, 2011 10:47 pm
I forgot to mention that before I started watching Doctor Who, I finally gave in and watched Glee. Season One was available for streaming on Netflix, so one Saturday I decided to watch the first episode just to see what all the fuss was over. Sunday evening, I finished Season One, paid for streaming the first few Season Two eps at Amazon.com, then discovered Hulu Prime and sprang for it. Got caught up over the next week and have been watching each new episode on Hulu on Wednesday morning. I even, heaven help me, bought the Glee Encore! dvd. And watched it immediately upon its arrival.

In the course of a month, I've gone from having no shows I watch regularly (Lost and Ugly Betty were my two must-sees and they both ended last year) to having two (Glee and Doctor Who), most likely three (because I've seen a few eps of White Collar and like what I've seen), and possibly four if I can get caught up with Fringe over the summer. It's a mixed blessing, let me tell you! I always like not being tied to a tv schedule. But when I get hooked on a show, I am definitely hooked. Since we don't have a DVR (and I'm not even sure I could hook up the VCR anymore, plus I'm not buying tapes), I could easily be tied to the tv schedule. Thank goodness for the Internet! It's definitely made watching current tv shows a whole lot easier.

In fact, not being tied to the tv schedule is how I could tell that, while I like Supernatural, I was never hooked on it. This season, I even kept forgetting it was on. Then again, I'm one of the six or so people that actually liked Season One best. I know it was monster-of-the-week, but in a cool way, like Kolchak.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, May 31st, 2011 10:29 pm
First of all, it is way too early in the year for it to be this hot. This is ridiculous! What happened to spring this year? We never got spring! Spring is my favorite season and it didn't happen. Summer is my least favorite season and it's not summer yet but it's so hot I think we're going to have my uncle put in the window a/c units. (We were going to wait til it was actually, you know, summer.)

So yesterday was too hot to actually do anything and I had turned in my assignment late Sunday evening, so even though I had plenty of work around the house to do - I didn't. In fact, the most strenuous thing I did was drive to Dairy Queen for supper because Irish had a bad toothache and didn't want to cook, so he had a large chocolate shake for supper instead. (Double cheeseburger sans bun, cheese curds, and Hawaiian mini blizzard for me.) The rest of the day, I watched Doctor Who eps.

(Some fannish rambling behind the cut.)

Read more... )

Up next - "The Girl in the Fireplace". I've actually seen chunks of that one when it first aired. I don't remember all of it and I keep thinking Madame Pompadour was in it. I guess I'll know shortly!

(Why yes, I am watching a lot of tv lately. I only have one class this summer and it's a full-term class, not accelerated like last summer, so I have some extra free time. Plus I'm also being pimped into Blood Ties and White Collar, and I found Faerie Tale Theatre on Hulu Prime and I've added Odyssey 5 and Fringe to my Netflix list - watching tv's sort of like my part-time summer job. *g*)
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, May 21st, 2011 10:58 pm
Yeah, I know, that wasn't really the title - but what a cool title it would've been! Finally up to series 6. River Song's revelation was so sad. So far, I've enjoyed every episode I've seen, some more than others. Rory is growing on me - the whole coming back as a Roman thing was very cool. Loved seeing Liz Ten again, but it wasn't nearly long enough. The Christmas special was also good.

Doctor Who reminds me of Xena and Highlander, in that while it has the capacity to be cheesy, it isn't. The characters quickly become people you care about, not just figures you watch on a tv screen, and the episodes can be very funny or break your heart - sometimes in the same ep. (And I still want Xena and Liz Ten to meet. *g*)

I keep wondering about the Doctor's statement to Amy back near the beginning of series 5 that she should remember the Daleks and if they'll ever elaborate on that.

I do have reservations cutting because of spoilers for the current season and I don't like spoiling current seasons )

One of the things I like best is that, while Matt Smith may be under 30, the Doctor clearly isn't (even though he might look it).
cbtreks: (Default)
Friday, May 20th, 2011 11:45 pm
In Doctor Who, that is. He wasn't in the credits but I looked him up on IMDB and I was right. Very good episode; I've always liked Vincent Van Gogh. (Even if they did keep saying his name funny. Is that how it's pronounced in Great Britain? It sounded like a running gag to my American ears.)

I liked Rory much better in the episode with the lizard people - sadly, though, I didn't miss him at all in the Van Gogh ep. (Neither did Amy, but to be fair, there's a legitimate - and sad - reason for that.) I kept getting distracted, though, with wondering why lizard women have breasts. Reptiles don't lactate. (Yes, that's weird - I can suspend my disbelief and have no trouble at all with a race of intelligent reptiles living in the center of the Earth - but lizard boobs throw me right out of the story.)

Ok, that's 3 eps tonight and I need to be up early for a Saturday, so no more. Three series 5 and the Christmas special to go, then I can start on series 6 - yay! Unfortunately, I need to make some time in there for school....
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, May 19th, 2011 09:55 pm
Just finished episode 7. I'm not going to be a Rory fan. So far I don't see the point of him - he and Amy have no chemistry and she didn't convince me that he's the one she really wants. Yes, in the dream world she did, but back in reality - she wasn't selling it. It could be just because she and the Doctor have so much chemistry that any other relationship she's in seems just - I don't know. Flat. Ho-hum. I don't necessarily mean that I think she and the Doctor should have a romantic or sexual relationship - I'm not sure that would work, really. But what they do have is so real and vibrant that what she has with Rory just seems - yawn. (Or maybe it really is Rory - so far, there's not much about the character I like. Nothing I dislike. He just doesn't impress me one way or the other.)

The aliens disguised as old folks were very cool, though!
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, May 18th, 2011 10:21 pm
Ok, so they weren't actually vampires - but those Venice vampires on Doctor Who have the best vampire teeth ever. Those were very scary and could definitely get the job done.

Also, the weeping angels are some of the creepiest things ever on tv. (And fortunately I remembered enough about them from what people were saying last year that I knew not to watch them before I went to bed last night.)
cbtreks: (Default)
Monday, May 16th, 2011 09:23 pm
I'm madly in love with Liz X.

That's all.
cbtreks: (Default)
Sunday, May 15th, 2011 12:22 am
Finally watched the first episode of the new Dr. Who (Number 11). Wow! I'm impressed and can't wait to see the rest and get caught up. (But guess I will wait 'cause it's after midnight and I'm tired.) I feel a bit like I came into the middle of a story. Loved when he was finding something that he liked to eat - and have to agree with him about the "beans are evil" bit. Those were baked beans from a can - never good. Ick. I don't get beans cooked in a heavy sweet sauce. (Black eyed peas with a good ham bone, now - that's something else entirely....)

It's funny - I hadn't seen much video of Matt Smith till I watched this, mostly still photos, and didn't find him attractive at all. Now having seen (and heard) him, I've changed my mind. Number 11 is very attractive - sexy, even! I think he doesn't photograph very well. It's odd how some people are like that - they just don't look like themselves in photos.

I hope I don't dream of Prisoner Zero or any of its incarnations tonight. Seriously creepy.
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, April 1st, 2010 06:57 pm
Awhile ago, I commented on [livejournal.com profile] debris4spike's journal so I could do this meme, then didn't get to it - so, rather belatedly, here it is. If you want to play too, let me know in comments - I'll pick up to three fandoms from your interests list - you fill in the answers.

These are the fandoms [livejournal.com profile] debris4spike chose for me:

Read more... )
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, March 3rd, 2010 04:54 pm
Over at TWOP, they've posted an item about possible shows for the actors of Lost, which is ending this season. These are real shows, just ideas someone came up with that they think would be good vehicles for these actors. Most of the ideas don't seem like anything special to me, but I'd love to see Arthur's Vineyard (their idea for Henry Ian Cusack) and possibly The Devil and Saint Jessica (their idea for Nestor Carbonell) and The Kingdom (for Jeff Fahey). I think any of those three ideas could be good shows if they had a good cast and good writing. If I were (a) not in school and (b) more ambitious as a writer, I'd take a stab at turning one of these into a virtual series (like the virtual seasons of dueSouth and The Sentinel that are out there). But I am in school and I'm not an ambitious writer, so that ain't gonna happen!

Lost: What the Cast Should Do Next
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Thursday, November 19th, 2009 09:13 pm
I always dream in color - I don't recall ever having a dream in black and white.

I'm glad I was diagnosed with sleep apnea in the spring. Not glad I have it, mind you - I'd much rather sleep without a mask! - but it's amazing to feel well-rested after so suffering from very poor sleep for so long. I'm still not a great sleeper - still wake up too soon almost every night - but the quality of sleep is so much better. I don't fall asleep at work anymore, which is a huge plus!

But (isn't there always a "but"?) I don't dream as much as I used to. Before the bi-pap machine, I went almost immediately into R.E.M. sleep and it seemed like I never hit another level of sleep all night long. It seemed like I dreamed all night, every night, very involved dreams with plot and lots of details. Not so much anymore. Of course I still dream every night, but they don't seem to be as frequent or as vivid. (And I haven't had a story-dream or fannish dream in ages. I once had a dream in which Buffy was taking a science fiction lit class in college and had to read I Am Legend. She, of course, hated the book and Spike thought it was funny that she had to read it.) I miss it. Not enough to quit using my bi-pap machine, though.

This is a dream I had back in 2004 and wrote down. It was verging on nightmare when I woke and even though I only wrote it down a month later from notes I'd made after I woke, I can still recall how it felt. I've often wished there was a way we could let other people experience our dreams themselves.

This is what I wrote when I got around to writing it down: "I remember being in Scotland, pulling small stones out of the cold, clear North Sea.* There were other people there - Star Trek characters, maybe? Dr. McCoy? Anyway, it was dark and clear and we found a sign planted in the sand which said, 'Hell Waits'. A strong wind came up and the sea began to rise. I know all kinds of creepy and evil things happened. I wish I could remember what, but I don't. We all fought and won, then one night I was walking on the shore, pulling small stones out of the North Sea and I came upon the sign once again: 'Hell Waits'. I ran, calling for (who was it?), then woke up with that awful prickly feeling on the back of my neck."

I still think about that one once in awhile and wish I could remember the details. Even though it really was creepy! And actually, a little hopeless, what with having won the battle, then everything starting all over again exactly as it had happened before.

*I've never seen the North Sea. I know it's cold but have no idea if it's clear. In my dream it was though - truly clear, like an unpolluted stream.

Do you dream in color? Plots and stories or just disjointed images? Fannish dreams?
Tags: