March 2022

S M T W T F S
   12345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, February 27th, 2021 03:15 pm
I had a dream last night that I was watching a tv show, a miniseries that was complete in about 7 episodes. I don't remember details although I know the main character was some sort of investigator - private, police, or amateur I don't know - and don't remember what exactly she was investigating. She was a white woman, mid-30s to mid-40s, with long, straight, blonde hair. The only detail I remember very clearly was the very last scene of the very last episode. The investigator was standing in a road, around twilight, with woods along either side, looking like she was contemplating whatever she'd been investigating. Then her body started twisting itself up and it became clear that the audience was looking at a battered, bruised corpse - still standing up - with a broken neck and long, straight, blonde hair. The corpse smiled at the camera and that was the end of the tv series.

I have no idea where that dream came from! I guess there are some similarities to The Sixth Sense, though I haven't watched that one in years. Unlike The Sixth Sense, though, there were no clues at all during the series that the main character was dead. Complete shock ending.

I kind of wish someone would make this show!
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, December 30th, 2020 03:13 pm
Not a quote from the Great British Bake Off but a quote about it: "Noel Fielding comes across as the strangely heartwarming result of a thought experiment that asked 'What if A.A. Milne wrote The Vampire Lestat?'". That made me grin from ear to ear because I hadn't thought of it that way before but it sounds right. (It's from a tongue-in-cheek article by Brian Philips called "The Great British Baking Show is Broken. Here's a Five-Point Plan to Fix It." Apparently he doesn't like food that doesn't look like food and he really, really doesn't like Paul Hollywood. He does, however, like Noel Fielding (and everyone else).)

PS - I agree with him about cookies. Don't English people like moist, soft, or chewy cookies, nice thick ones? On GBBO, if the cookies aren't thin and crunchy, they tend to be judged badly. Here if we want thin, crunchy cookies we usually buy them from the store, in a box. Even at the store, if you buy them from the bakery, they're generally not crispy and crunchy. (I know that there are cookies that are meant to be crispy, like gingersnaps and speculaas and we make those too, but Paul Hollywood does seem to think that every kind of cookie should be crispy and crunchy. So I figure it's a cultural difference. I wonder if he judges differently on the American version to account for different preferences.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Friday, November 20th, 2020 11:55 am
I've been rewatching Wiseguy, which is better than I remember and I'm really happy to see episodes that I didn't have the chance to see before. Currently watching the last episode of Season 2, in which Vinnie's mother has returned early from her honeymoon in Italy because Vinnie has met a girl - hopefully the girl (Amber). Ma is an Italian immigrant, whose first husband died years ago. She's a devout Catholic, rather old-fashioned, and wants Vinnie to meet "a nice girl". (Vinnie's mom and step-dad say girl, not woman, though Vinnie points out that she's not a girl, she's a woman.)

So the day after Ma and her new husband get back to town, she goes to Vinnie's house in the morning while he's out to clean up and cook for him. Amber has spent the night and, thinking she's alone in the house, comes out of the shower wrapped in a towel and singing to herself. Ma hears her and turns from the stove just as Amber enters the kitchen. You can imagine what Ma is thinking!

Immediately segue to a sausage lying on a cutting board, being chopped into thin slices.

Not symbolic at all! I'm still laughing. (Also, funny - Ma doesn't yell at Vinnie, she gets disappointed at him. Very disappointed in his face.)

Wiseguy is so well-written and so well-acted. It's tempting to get the DVD set because I believe one was released that contains the Dead Dog Records arc, which is totally skipped in the streamed series, I think because of music rights complications. Lots of really fine actors as well, including Jim Byrnes, Kevin Spacy (before everyone knew, obviously), Annette Benning, Tim Curry, Jerry Lewis - I didn't realize he was such a good dramatic actor - and Stanley Tucci. With hair. I have to say, Stanley Tucci looks better now than he did 30 years ago. Too bad Ken Wahl retired from acting - he was great in this.

Also, last night I finally got to see the episode "Call It Casaba", which is famous in fannish circles but which I'd never seen before. Good comedy, good drama, and I told Irish that if someone told me entire chunks of dialog were ad libbed it wouldn't surprise me at all, because it's that natural-sounding. Jim Byrnes also gets to sing (and it's organic to the episode, not shoe-horned in).

ETA - Ma did come around but (I'm not at the end of the episode yet), I don't think things work out between Vinnie and Amber because if I recall correctly, he was still single in Season 3. (And completely absent in Season 4, which really hurt the series.) I hope Amber doesn't end up dead or something.

ETA 2 - Oh no! It's a cliffhanger! (And Amber's not dead but step-dad is shot and I suspect Amber will decide she can't handle being married to an undercover Federal Agent.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Wednesday, August 26th, 2020 02:05 pm
That's Irish's response whenever I have a little rant about something stupid in a tv show or movie (or book). I have a tendency to talk to the characters - "Why would you do that? What are you doing? Oh my gosh, you've entered the Underworld - why are you eating??" He finds it amusing because he doesn't get quite that involved - when he sees people doing stupid things in tv shows, he just says, "It's in the script." He said it today when I was telling him about one of my biggest pet peeves, which came up in something I was watching this week - three times, in 3 different shows, if I remember correctly. (He does agree, though, that characters who find themselves in the Underworld should really remember not to eat anything they didn't bring with them.)

Good Guy follows Bad Guy to an empty warehouse miles outside of town to get proof the Bad Guy is, indeed, Bad. Good Guy gets his proof but also gets caught. He plays dumb and fortunately he either gets away or Bad Guy just lets him go. But instead of running out of the empty warehouse as fast as he can and hightailing it back to town with his proof, Good Guy stops at the entrance and says, "And you need to know that as soon I get back to town I'm contacting the authorities and I'm doing this and this and this too."

Why? Why why why? Don't be stupid, Good Guy! You got away with it! Don't stand around talking, just go!

Yeah, I know, it's in the script. (I feel the need for a tongue-in-cheek emoji right about now.)
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Friday, May 12th, 2017 01:20 pm
At the library using the Internet for about another hour. Spent the morning watching the first few episodes of Sensate and downloaded 2 more when I got here. I don't necessarily like it, but it's intriguing. If I'd quit after the first 2 episodes, I'd have deleted it from my Netflix queue and moved on but then I watched the 3rd and 4th episode and now I have to know what happens next.

Moved my bed yesterday (that was part of the upstairs project) and didn't sleep as well as I'd have liked. Isn't it funny how that happens? I'll be fine in a day or two. Now I have shelve to put together. I don't really have room to put them together because I have so many stacks of books and things on the floor. Once the shelves are put together, the stacks of things will go on the shelves and I'll have the room I need to put shelves together.... It ought to be interesting. I haven't had shelves upstairs since we moved in, so the stacks have been there for quite awhile. I suspect I'll have to pile things up in the corners, which is annoying because the stacks themselves are nicely sorted!

There's a drive-in theater not too far from here. I've been a couple of times in past years but Irish never has. We won't go this weekend or next - we've pretty much used (or will use on Sunday) our entertainment budget for this pay period, but we plan to go in the near future. I think it'll be a lot of fun. I'm willing to spring for the outside food pass (pay an extra $10 to bring your own food - snacks, a picnic, whatever) but Irish isn't sold on it. I imagine their concession prices aren't too awful, since the owners also have a regular movie theater in Plymouth and those prices aren't unreasonable. Of course when you're talking movie snacks "unreasonable" is a relative figure! This is the website for the drive-in: http://www.triwaydrivein.com/ It's $9.00 a person, but that's for two movies each. I think it's that much for just one at a regular theater but we only go to matinees, so I'm not sure.
cbtreks: (Default)
Saturday, April 29th, 2017 04:48 pm
Not the city - I've been through it a couple of times as a kid and took the cereal factory tour (free variety pack of cereal for everyone at the end!) and that's about it. Actually, in addition to cereal, we got spoons, I'm pretty sure I have a tarnished spoon with Tony the Tiger on the top somewhere.

I'm talking about the tv series that ran for 13 episodes about 2 years ago and which I just watched on Netflix. How did this not get renewed? I love it! (That, of course, is all the reason they needed to renew it and keep on doing so - because I would discover it and love it.) It's like a spiritual successor to Due South and so, so good. 13 episodes wasn't enough by a long shot. I'm not sure it was around long enough to even develop a fandom. (It has one now - a little fandom of one.) Plus I like it when shows are set in Michigan. Fortunately it didn't end on a cliffhanger, but the characters and their interactions are all so interesting and I want to see how every one of them develops. I'm already missing it. Might have to watch it all over again.

Also - not a surprise at all that it kept making me think of Due South. David Shore, one of the producers, wrote 7 episodes of Due South.
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, May 31st, 2011 10:47 pm
I forgot to mention that before I started watching Doctor Who, I finally gave in and watched Glee. Season One was available for streaming on Netflix, so one Saturday I decided to watch the first episode just to see what all the fuss was over. Sunday evening, I finished Season One, paid for streaming the first few Season Two eps at Amazon.com, then discovered Hulu Prime and sprang for it. Got caught up over the next week and have been watching each new episode on Hulu on Wednesday morning. I even, heaven help me, bought the Glee Encore! dvd. And watched it immediately upon its arrival.

In the course of a month, I've gone from having no shows I watch regularly (Lost and Ugly Betty were my two must-sees and they both ended last year) to having two (Glee and Doctor Who), most likely three (because I've seen a few eps of White Collar and like what I've seen), and possibly four if I can get caught up with Fringe over the summer. It's a mixed blessing, let me tell you! I always like not being tied to a tv schedule. But when I get hooked on a show, I am definitely hooked. Since we don't have a DVR (and I'm not even sure I could hook up the VCR anymore, plus I'm not buying tapes), I could easily be tied to the tv schedule. Thank goodness for the Internet! It's definitely made watching current tv shows a whole lot easier.

In fact, not being tied to the tv schedule is how I could tell that, while I like Supernatural, I was never hooked on it. This season, I even kept forgetting it was on. Then again, I'm one of the six or so people that actually liked Season One best. I know it was monster-of-the-week, but in a cool way, like Kolchak.
Tags:
cbtreks: (Default)
Tuesday, May 31st, 2011 10:29 pm
First of all, it is way too early in the year for it to be this hot. This is ridiculous! What happened to spring this year? We never got spring! Spring is my favorite season and it didn't happen. Summer is my least favorite season and it's not summer yet but it's so hot I think we're going to have my uncle put in the window a/c units. (We were going to wait til it was actually, you know, summer.)

So yesterday was too hot to actually do anything and I had turned in my assignment late Sunday evening, so even though I had plenty of work around the house to do - I didn't. In fact, the most strenuous thing I did was drive to Dairy Queen for supper because Irish had a bad toothache and didn't want to cook, so he had a large chocolate shake for supper instead. (Double cheeseburger sans bun, cheese curds, and Hawaiian mini blizzard for me.) The rest of the day, I watched Doctor Who eps.

(Some fannish rambling behind the cut.)

Read more... )

Up next - "The Girl in the Fireplace". I've actually seen chunks of that one when it first aired. I don't remember all of it and I keep thinking Madame Pompadour was in it. I guess I'll know shortly!

(Why yes, I am watching a lot of tv lately. I only have one class this summer and it's a full-term class, not accelerated like last summer, so I have some extra free time. Plus I'm also being pimped into Blood Ties and White Collar, and I found Faerie Tale Theatre on Hulu Prime and I've added Odyssey 5 and Fringe to my Netflix list - watching tv's sort of like my part-time summer job. *g*)